People are surprised when Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert, both very set in their ways, decide to adopt an orphan boy. But no-one is more astonished than Marilla and Matthew themselves when the boy they are expecting turns out to be a very talkative, very imaginative, very red-headed, very female GIRL. Anne has arrived at Green Gables. Her dreams, sorrows and joys are set down here in one of the most popular books ever written.

Books in sequential order:

1.    Anne of Green Gables

2.    Anne of Avonlea

3.    Anne of the Island

4.    Anne of Windy Willows

5.    Anne’s House of Dreams

6.    Anne of Ingleside

7.    Rainbow Valley

8.    Rilla of Ingleside


Related books in which Anne Shirley plays a lesser part:

1.    Chronicles of Avonlea

2.    Further Chronicles of Avonlea